Page 1 of 1

request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 12 May 2022, 01:54
by dumbfungus
Swapping my show from one controller to another and I have to reassign my midi triggers - tedious and complex and frustrating.

Can we get a reset all midi triggers feature? Certainly with one or two levels of “are you sure?” warnings.

Re: Feature request: reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 12 May 2022, 07:37
by support
You can do that:
- edit the file "../YourLightshow/Live/live.ini"
- search and erase all lines starting with "trigger_midi_", "fader1_midi_", "fader2_midi_", ..., "fader8_midi_"

Caution: if you make a mistake in this file, you may lose your ligthshow. So before doing this, please save a backup of your lightshow. You can also duplicate the file "live.ini" inside the lightshow.

Re: request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 17 May 2022, 01:42
by dumbfungus
Yes that’s exactly what I have a “release all midi” feature request.

Current method is more of a workaround than a feature.

Not that I know anything about programming (part of why I wouldn’t try to do it as suggested), but I feel like it would be an easy script to write. And then it’s a feature, instead of a “this may ruin your show file if you do it wrong ...” scenario.

Please and thanks,

Re: request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 21 May 2022, 17:53
by support
Current method is more of a workaround than a feature

Yes. The good point of this procedure is the user can not do that by mistake.

Re: request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 27 May 2022, 01:24
by dumbfungus
support wrote:
Current method is more of a workaround than a feature

Yes. The good point of this procedure is the user can not do that by mistake.


Yes but I can’t do it intentionally either. The method you recommended seems more likely to compromise my show, than a “reset all midi” function would have. Just add a 2 stage warning. “Are you sure you want to reset all midi triggers?” and I click YES and then another dialog “midi buttons will not work if you proceed, are you sure?” and then I click YES again. It saves me an hour or more of digging around in the master text file for the entire show.

Sorry I don’t mean to nag or anything , I just see the ini file as the entire brains of the operation and I’m certainly no brain surgeon. On the other hand, a script to automatically do it , as requested by others besides me, would be a real pro feature.

Please and thanks,

Re: request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 31 May 2022, 14:27
by support
Understood.
We will keep that in mind for the new software.

Re: request - reset all midi triggers

PostPosted: 01 June 2022, 14:00
by Niffo
Please note you can export the midi trigger list from "Live" => "Menu" => "Export midi triggers"