ShowXpress and Ableton Live 10

live control with midi devices

ShowXpress and Ableton Live 10

Postby Shoc » 01 September 2021, 22:04

BACKGROUND: Hello, I am programming lights via ShowXpress for a show in the coming months. I am a musician with a decent understanding of lighting and dmx etc. Upon getting help from Chauvet T.S. and an updated driver, I can now use ShowXpress to program my lights.

ISSUE: I need to be able to control these lights through midi commands sent out via Ableton Live 10, I am on a PC machine. (HP Pavilion i7 64bit 16GB RAM) This laptop has Ableton 10, ShowXpress installed but I couldn't see either program to connect midi data. With research I found loopmidi and virtualmidi by Tobias Erichsen and downloaded both. I was able to create a midi connection that Ableton can see and patch to but I am unable to see or patch ShowXpress to it (loopmidi).

BOTTOM LINE: Are these the right steps to take to achieve my end goal or am I heading in the wrong direction? If these are the right steps, then what am I missing? This is my first time actually creating an account and asking my question IN the forum lol as most of my questions have been asked already. This subject seems to be very niche. If I figure this out I will be making an e-course on it from start to finish because this will open the production door to many artists, so I really hope someone can help me.

Thanks in advance!
Shoc

Re: ShowXpress and Ableton Live 10

Postby support » 02 September 2021, 07:26

So we consider that you know how to set up the midi parameters in the window "Preferences" > tab "Midi" of our software, and the midi device is well declared in the list. And we go to the next step.

Usually, when the device is declared and the "Midi log" window shows no midi messages, the reason is another software is already listening the midi and it blocks the other software to do same.