Macro Question

create pages with buttons to trigger scenes

Macro Question

Postby Pink LD » 05 February 2018, 15:27

Is there a limit to how many buttons a Macro can call? Or at least an effective limit?
Pink LD
 
Posts: 669
Joined: 04 January 2010, 19:03
Location: Green Bay WI

Re: Macro Question

Postby support » 06 February 2018, 23:01

In theory no.
Anyway, if you meet a problem with that, please post a link to download the lightshow.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7474
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Macro Question

Postby Pink LD » 06 February 2018, 23:45

I will do that Support. As you know I run a huge show and I am pressing 200 Live pages shortly. So I thought I was having a problem with it as it was similar to the problem I was having when I breeched 100 Live pages. But the 100 page limit was addressed and fixed a couple of years ago.
I am still assessing the odd glitch with the Macros but I haven't yet determined exactly what the problem is. But I am leaning towards the way the software samples each new Macro engaged (Solo buttons Macros) and scans the Live pages to engage the call. It may turn out that my show is just too big for my current PC and I need a faster custom PC to do the work I am asking it. Mainly because I am often seeing the Windows hourglass briefly as I work with the show while editing and playing back.
In other words perhaps I just found the limit for the speed of my PC.
Pink LD
 
Posts: 669
Joined: 04 January 2010, 19:03
Location: Green Bay WI

Re: Macro Question

Postby support » 07 February 2018, 10:09

Yes, we usually say that a basic cheap computer is enough to run our software.
This is true with 99% of the existing lightshows, but with an ultra big lightshow, you can discover lags and in that case, a fast computer may be welcome.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7474
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Macro Question

Postby Luc Henrion » 07 February 2018, 11:53

Interesting... Could you go further and give us any indication of what to check first ? 1) CPU ? 2) RAM ? 3) GPU ?
Luc Henrion
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 March 2015, 06:57

Re: Macro Question

Postby support » 07 February 2018, 14:29

RAM - no
GPU - only for the next 3DView in coming V9
CPU - yes
SSD - yes
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7474
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Macro Question

Postby Luc Henrion » 07 February 2018, 16:12

Very good to know ! Thanks you.
Luc Henrion
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 March 2015, 06:57

Re: Macro Question

Postby Pink LD » 07 February 2018, 19:05

Yeah, I am running an SSD, but an i3 Intel dual core All In One. Along with a USB adapter for 2nd monitor, and 3D definitely gigs down if I run it on the second monitor. But I really don't need 3D for show PC.
So yes, I am looking to upgrade the show PC then. Thanks for your input.
Pink LD
 
Posts: 669
Joined: 04 January 2010, 19:03
Location: Green Bay WI

Re: Macro Question

Postby Luc Henrion » 07 February 2018, 19:13

Using an i3 + SSD also, and without issues so far, but my shows are certainly not very big until now...
Just thinking about a new laptop with an i7, so it's indeed a precious information. 8-)
Luc Henrion
 
Posts: 112
Joined: 30 March 2015, 06:57

Re: Macro Question

Postby Pink LD » 07 February 2018, 19:30

FYI: I run a Macro heavy, 3 universe show, with nearly 200 Live pages. 1/2 of which is palettes of each and every fixture. Only about 1/4 of the pages are for my playback, but each Macro I select the software is scanning 200 Live pages each time. And I have apparently hit the limit.
Still I got 2 years solid service out of it.
Pink LD
 
Posts: 669
Joined: 04 January 2010, 19:03
Location: Green Bay WI

Next

Return to Live - Buttons

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest