Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

post here general topics for software

Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

Postby prmckay1 » 12 January 2019, 10:32

Purchased New Win 10 Laptop (HP) Installed Showexpress -- Exported Lightshow from old laptop and imported into new laptop -- DMX worked everything except 'Live' -- Circle with X -- per Tech - Known Bug -- Need to verify same version of Showexpress. - yep -- old laptop running 7xx and new one 8 xxx - so updated old --

Now export/import - and nothing - no light show period -- Tech says 'known bug' waiting on developers

any suggestions?

prmckay1@yahoo.com
prmckay1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 January 2019, 10:25

Re: Lightshow Transfer

Postby support » 12 January 2019, 19:24

Please post a link to download your lightshow (https://thelightingcontroller.com/viewt ... ?f=3&t=168).
We will check that.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7961
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Lightshow Transfer

Postby support » 13 January 2019, 19:14

It looks like you have linked external (outside of the lightshow folder) scenes into this lightshow.
We can see that because the file "live.ini" contains absolute paths for these external scenes (like for instance "C:/Users/McKa/TheLightingController/LightShows/default/scenes/Monster Beam Prog 1.sce" instead of "Monster Beam Prog 1.sce").
So these scenes are logically not included in your lightshow.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7961
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

Postby prmckay1 » 14 January 2019, 11:05

I understand your logic - but I'm confused because -- the light show works on the 1st computer -- assuming this is because these were 'linked' outside 'lightshow' somehow (Not because I tried -- )

and at least transferred to the 2nd computer before I upgraded versions on the 1st computer - now nothing shows on the 2nd computer - absolutely nothing - and this file is what was attempted to 'import'

Shouldn't the basic show have transferred?
prmckay1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 January 2019, 10:25

Re: Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

Postby support » 14 January 2019, 11:50

Sorry but we do not understand your question.

In order to retrieve the scenes in your lightshow, you have to do this:
- copy the scenes files into your lightshow folder
- in the file "live.ini", replace all the text "C:/Users/McKa/TheLightingController/LightShows/default/scenes/YourScene.sce" by "YourScene.sce" (replace absolute path by relative path)
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7961
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

Postby prmckay1 » 14 January 2019, 17:12

The basic question is why can i not transfer anything to another computer?

I just attempted to take the show I sent you and import -- (was successful)

Nothing is there

Attempted to 'Export it' to send to you and 'Export Fails'

Should I roll back the version and try?
prmckay1
 
Posts: 3
Joined: 12 January 2019, 10:25

Re: Lightshow Transfer - red circle into the buttons

Postby support » 15 January 2019, 09:33

It is same as when you insert a picture in a word processing software with the option "link to file".
Please read this for more understanding: https://www.labnol.org/software/insert- ... ents/8144/
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7961
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32


Return to General software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest