Rack does not remember DMX input patch

usb to dmx - 19'' rack - 16 flash buttons - dmx input - calendar

Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 23 October 2013, 15:03

Hi,

I have a brand new Rack-unit who does not remember the DMX-input patch. It works perfectly as long as my computer is connected. As soon as I disconnect it looses the DMX-input patch. Please help!
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby support » 23 October 2013, 18:51

Please specify what do you mean by "disconnect".
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7694
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 24 October 2013, 08:37

When I disconnect the USB from the computor.

Here's what I'm trying to acomplish/what I have done: The Rack unit is in a fixed installation at a club. Not everyone uses the Sweetlight software so I have connected a simple 24-ch DMX-desk to the Rack's DMX-input and throught the DMX-input patch I have created submasters, eg. one channel controls all "red", another controls all "dimmer" etc. so that anyone can get some light going. All "color functions" (think 5-ch LED Par fixtures) are input patched as HTP and all dimmer channels are input patched "DMX in". As a small bonus for the club owner I programmed a few scenes and uploaded them to the Rack unit. All scenes are programmed with the fixtures dimmer channels at 0 so that anyone can choose a scene on the Rack unit and then simply by using one channel on the lighting desk add "intesity" on the scene (by incresing the dimmer value).This all works perfectly as long as a computor is connected to the rack unit. When i close down Sweetl. and unplug/disconnect the USB cable the Rack lo longer responds to DMX input signals from the lighting desk.
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby support » 24 October 2013, 09:45

Please post your lightshow.
We will check that.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7694
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 24 October 2013, 13:27

Thank you,
Please find the lightshow attached...
Attachments
Tangopalatset 2013-10-14.zip
Re-saved today and zipped
(12.54 KiB) Downloaded 419 times
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby support » 24 October 2013, 13:45

In your lightshow, the patch file (dmx_inputs_patch.ini) is empty (0 octets).
This means, even with "computer connected", the dmx inputs are supposed to do nothing.
Please double-check your lightshow.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7694
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 24 October 2013, 14:16

Computer restarted, original files OK, re-zipped...
Attachments
Tangopalatset 2013-10-14.zip
Correct file
(13.96 KiB) Downloaded 387 times
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 24 October 2013, 15:13

Hi again,

Now I have re-installed the software and started from scratch. This time all channels in the DMX-patch is set to "DMX-input". The result is the same. As long as the computer is connected all works perfectly and when I close the software "Control Panel" all goes black. The Rack unit no longer recognizes the DMX-input (no flashing led on the unit). A Rack power off and on and it finds the DMX-input again, BUT STILL NO INPUT PATCH!!! Both me and my customer is going crazy about this!
Attachments
TP 2013 10 24.zip
New from scratch
(10.31 KiB) Downloaded 390 times
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby support » 25 October 2013, 16:40

So if we right understood, with this lightshow:
- it works when the program "ControlBoard" is running
- as soon as you close the program "ControlBoard", the "dmx input" LED of the interface stops flashing (please confirm this)

This is not normal. In order to be sure that the interface has a problem, if possible, please try it with another dmx desk.
If same behaviour with the other dmx desk, then we are sure the interface has a problem. So please return it to your retailer.
If it works with the other dmx desk, this means, for an unknown reason, there is a dmx compatibility problem.

PS : your lightshow works here, with our test dmx desk and interface Rack.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 7694
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: Rack does not remember DMX input patch

Postby Euphony » 29 October 2013, 08:31

OK,

Thank you. The Rack has functioned properly since my last post (all good luck?)… because of it's unpredictable behavior I have not tried using any software. I will check it again today. It is now DMX-input patched with ALL channels set to DMX-input as priority.
KS Audio - Finally something that meets my demands!
Euphony
 
Posts: 17
Joined: 11 November 2010, 08:36
Location: Sweden


Return to Rack

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest