[bug] Protocol Bugs - Fader_Change - Freeze_* - Auto_BPM*

remote control for the section "Live" of the software

[bug] Protocol Bugs - Fader_Change - Freeze_* - Auto_BPM*

Postby Tidwell » 24 February 2017, 04:52

Hi guys, I've recently been doing a lot with ShowXpress and was really excited when I saw the Protocol Definition document outlining how external applications can talk to Live. I'm a software developer by day, so I put together a node.js client library for talking to Live and a demo app replicating all the functionality of Live Mobile:

node.js client library
example app replicating Live Mobile in a browser

However, I found a few bugs that I'd like to submit. This was tested on a Macbook Pro running Sierra 10.12.3 with ShowXPress 8.2.16 - 170207

1. Adjusting a fader on a client app does not re-broadcast a FADER_CHANGE event to other client apps..
It does broadcast a FADER_CHANGE event if a fader changes using Live, but not with an external app.

To replicate:
- Open 2 client applications connected to the same ShowXpress instance.
- Adjust a fader in ShowXpress.
- Notice that both client apps show the moved faders.
- Adjust a fader in one of the client apps
- Notice that ONLY ShowXpress will have faders updated (not the client applications)
- ShowXpress is not rebroadcasting a FADER_CHANGE event to all client apps.

2. The Freeze events are not broadcast or re-broadcast..
Sending FREEZE_ON or FREEZE_OFF from a client app does not rebroadcast an event to other client apps. AND toggling Freeze in Live does not send an event to client apps.

To replicate:
- Toggle freeze in a client app
- Notice ShowXpress updates, but the other client app does not
- ShowXpress is not rebroadcasting a FREEZE_ON or FREEZE_OFF event to all client apps.

Also to replicate:
- Open a client application connected to a ShowXpress instance.
- Toggle freeze in ShowXpress
- Notice the client app does not get sent FREEZE_ON or FREEZE_OFF events