Time line changing ? [moved]

the second tab of Live, with timelines

Time line changing ? [moved]

Postby diamond » 24 September 2011, 15:05

I am VERY new to all of this, and did try searching for an answer before posting. Not knowing all of these terms yet, it makes searches difficult. So, I apologize if this has been answered already.

The problem I'm having is, it seem like the timing of my scenes in the timeline changed depending on if I start the audio from the beginning or from some other point. As an example...

If I have a 2 minute song and want to place my scenes in, I have to ALWAYS rewind to the beginning of the song to see how they look in the time line. If I start at, say 32 seconds and place a scene at 35 seconds, play it back from 32 seconds again, and it's perfect. Then, I rewind the song to the beginning and play it, and it's off!?!

I'm leaning towards it being something I'm doing wrong over the program;) So...a little help please?

Thanks much in advance!
diamond

Re: Time line changing?

Postby tomrbland » 24 September 2011, 21:03

Is your audio file an mp3? Try to use WAV files where you can. I'll try and find the reason for you now...
tomrbland

Postby tomrbland » 24 September 2011, 21:06

I can't find the post right now, it was quite along time ago. But there is a reason that it doesn't play in the same place everytime, it's to do with how Windows handles audio files.
tomrbland

Postby diamond » 24 September 2011, 23:12

WOW! I NEVER would have thought that would be the issue, but it seems to have corrected it. I'll keep testing to be sure.

I can't thank you enough for that. I would be a LONG time to program a song having to go back to the beginning every time...nope, wrong...rewind try again. Yikes!

So, I'm looking at using this to program for a band. I'm guessing I would have to run a few songs right after each other to make it simple to do. But, then the wav files alone would be about 200 meg! I hope that will work?