3D Window (V5.1.0) won't start [fixed]

graphic representation in 3 dimensions

3D Window (V5.1.0) won't start [fixed]

Postby BuBulle » 03 March 2019, 09:38

Dear support team,

Suddenly my 3D stopped working. Since last time I restarted Sweetlight
1. start Sweetlight
2. launch 3D -> launching widget appear for 15", then disappears -> main 3D windows does not appear
3. I checked on task manager, no 3D process

This is on Windows 7 64-Bit, Sweetlight V9.1.9 181115 64-bit

I sent an email to support and zipped export.

Pat
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 04 March 2019, 22:19

Hello Support team,

FYI I loaded latest fix 9.1.13. 190208. No change.
As I need to finalize an important show I am willing to help you help me as much as possible as I can't install real fixtures here, so relying in 3D View.

I also looked for a 3D Viewer upgrade or fix. Is 5.1.0 180912 the latest version ?

Thanks a lot for any help,
Pat
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 09:37

Hello,

I now remember that I recently used 3Dview with a separated monitor (extend mode).
so I also tried removing .ini file or deleting frm_main line from dview.ini with

No improvement. I keep on trying, time passes by and this is an issue with gig coming soon.

Pat
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 13:33

hello,

Just tried on multiscreen just in case my 3Dview was lost in limbo despite deleting frm_main line from 3Dview.ini.

No change, so I am desperately seeking for any help. :(

Is there anyone here ?
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby Pink LD » 05 March 2019, 14:10

Have you used this setup on a different PC? When 3D crashes on me, similarly to what you describe it is because my notebook uses the open GL setting, but my office and show PC do not. So when I switch from the notebook to the other PCs, or vice versa I have to change to Open GL settings correctly or 3D will crash.
I hope this helps you figure out how to solve your issue.
Last edited by Pink LD on 05 March 2019, 21:05, edited 1 time in total.
Pink LD
 
Posts: 688
Joined: 04 January 2010, 19:03
Location: Green Bay WI

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 16:11

Hello Pink LD,

Many thanks, your willingness to help is much appreciated.

This 3D view worked on this very laptop, there was no transfer to/from another computer for a while.
I even removed all 3DView files under \TheLightingController\LightShows\my lightshow\3DView to force a fresh start, no change.
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 16:30

I just tried to start it again and monitored task manager. 3Dview.exe process starts, reaches 37K and vanishes do this is definitely a crash.

So I tried to open a previous lightshow and this worked.
So I copied this 3D into my current lighshow and 3Dview.exe still crashed.

So there must be something in my current lighshow (fixtures ? ) that does not work.

I will check my current fixture settings to see anything.

I am afraid only support can help narrow the problem with a debugger.

Pat
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby support » 05 March 2019, 19:17

Noted.
We are are able to reproduce the problem.
We are working on it.
The Lighting Controller
support
Administrateur
 
Posts: 8322
Joined: 07 December 2009, 16:32

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 21:53

Great, many thanks.

So I found that 3DView loads from an almost identical fixtures file on same computer.
I am not 100% sure which files are used by 3Dview. At least fixtures file. As I do not want to copy the valid one to replace the other one, to avoid side effects, I will compare them manually to see if anything strikes me, in which case I will revert to you

Your support much appreciated,
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Re: 3D Window won't start

Postby BuBulle » 05 March 2019, 22:58

OK I tried with the fixture.ini file from a running version which I copied on this lighshow and still does not work. So this seem to rule out the ficture.ini. What other files does 3Dview.exe read and load at process start ?
BuBulle
 
Posts: 29
Joined: 11 May 2010, 13:42

Next

Return to 3DView

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests